Quoits Again

Quoits Again

A different group of men but still with their quoits, at Skinningrove but who are the men?

Back row: Henry Tyler, James Wheatman, ??.

Front row: Albert Wilson, William (Rastus) Ashwell, Johnny Magor, Freddy Moggridge, Dick Garner, James Kaye.
Image courtesy of the Pem Holliday Collection, with updates from Craig Bullock, Keith Wheatman and A. N. Andrew.

Quoits Cups

Quoits Cups

A group of smartly dressed men all ready for the photographer proudly displaying the cups, once again it is Skinningrove. Colin Hart has told us: ”These are members of Skinningrove Workingmen’s Club and Institute, winners of  several Quoits Cups and they are (viewing left to right) North of England Amateur Quoits Club Association Championship 1938, League Cup 1938 and Whitby Cup 1938”. They had a good year! In earlier years the team were North of England League Champions (Quoits) 1929 and North of England Cup Winners 1930; whilst Richard Wheatman was North of England Quoits Singles Champiuon in 1933, 1936 and 1938.

Back row (standing); William (Bronco)Holliday, Lou Hall, James (Peps) Wheatman, F. Hall,  James (Baggy) Ward (President), Harold Walker, N. (Honce) House, G. A. (Gilly) Glover.

Front row (seated): Fred Smith, Richard (Dick) Wheatman (Vice Captain), Tom Hall (Captain), Richard (Dick) Garner, William (Billy) Flinton.

Image courtesy of the Pem Holliday Collection, thanks to James Wheatman for the update. Especial thanks to Colin Hart and Danny Found (via Eileen Found) for completing the names list and the reason for all the cups.

Skinningrove Quoits Clubs

This photograph is actually displayed at the Tom Leonard Mining Museum and the names have now been deciphered. There is one problem; it is possible that the middle and front rows have an additional person on each – note the alteration in the image, hopefully someone can advise? 

Back row: F. Smith, W. Flinton, G. A. Glover, G. W. Glover, F. Ward, F. Hall, W. Magor.

Middle row: J. R. Eggleston, G. A. Pinkney, J. Winspear, D. Tyler, J. Harker, G. Ward, F. Shaw, J. Wheatman, ??.

Front row: W. Andrew, J. Saunby, T. Hall, R. Wheatman, T. Ward, J. Pasco, E. Simpson, G. Breckon, ??.

Cups (left to right): Club Union Cup 1929-30, North of England League Champions 1929, Whitby Challenge Cup 1930.