Recent Comments


Recent Comments


Loftus Cricket Team – 1953

We asked questions and Terry Shaw has come up with the answers; the place is Loftus Cricket Ground at East Loftus in 195 3; Loftus were Cleveland Cup and Kerridge Cup Winners 1953.

Back Row (L to R): Jack Andrew (scorer), R. Pigg, R. Hasseldine, C. Winspear, M Matson, J. Hauxwell, ??, B. Husband (gateman).

Front Row (L to R): D. Codling, Ernie Cockburn, Fred Hird, Maurice Stephenson, C.H.A. Howe.

The two trophies featured are the Cleveland and the Kerridge Cups. Ian Proctor tell us: ”The Cleveland Cup first played in 1885 over two innings and won by Norton. The Kerridge Cup first played 1911 and won by Liverton Mines.”

Terry Shaw further tells us: ”Cleveland Cup Final played at Great Ayton on 3rd August 1953. Dorman’s 62 all out (C. Winspear 4-15, F. Hird 3-20)
Loftus A 65-4 (C. H. A. Howe 19, G. Robinson 16). Played on an August Bank Holiday Monday in very warm sunshine Dorman’s won the toss and elected to bat, a decision which they afterwards regretted due to during the previous week it had been very wet so the wicket and outfield was very soft, the wicket being very susceptible to spin.
The Dorman’s batsmen were soon in difficulty to the bowling of 18-year-old C. Winspear who took 4-15 and F. Hird 3-20 and the side were dismissed for 62. Loftus replied with 65-4 to win the cup for the seventh time, C. H. A. Howe making 19, G. Robinson 16, and B. Swain 14.
Among the large number of spectators were members and supporters of nearly every team in the league, including many Loftus people who had made the journey by bus. E. Cockburn of Loftus played in his third successful Cleveland Cup Final, the only player at that time who had managed more than two.

Kerridge Cup Final played at Marton on 6th August 1953
Constantine 84 all out (24 overs) (F. Hird 6-24, C. Winspear 4-37)
Loftus A 85-4 (15.1 overs) (C. H. A. Howe 27* R. Pigg 21; Loftus won by 6 wickets. Loftus’s winning total of 85-4 was scored in just 47 mins.

Image courtesy of Keith Bennison; with thanks for the information Joan Jemson, Eric Johnson, Ian Proctor (Historian of Cleveland Cricket League), Terry Shaw and Ken Fawcett for the full details.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.